Topic: Aluminum Radiators, 2 Row vs 3 Row vs. 4 Row?

wilsonsk    -- 11-23-2022 @ 7:02 PM
  I have a 41 Tudor Sedan with an 8BA in it. An aluminum 2 row radiator was put in in the 80s or 90s I think. 3 and 4 row aluminum radiators are plentiful and affordable, is there a big advantage with 3 or 4 rows vs. 2? It’s not over heating now, but extra insurance is good if there is really an advantage.

Thoughts?

51504bat    -- 11-24-2022 @ 6:49 AM
  Aluminum radiator construction and performance is different from conventional brass/copper radiators. From what I understand its the size of the tube not the number of rows. To me it sounds like what you have is working so why change it? JMO

40cpe    -- 11-24-2022 @ 7:06 AM
  How wide are the tubes in your radiator? I'm no radiator expert, but have done a lot of reading on them. The fins attached to the sides of the tubes remove the heat. Some aluminum radiators have tubes 1" to 1 1/4" wide. This allows a long, flat space to attach fins. Cores with three or four rows must have more narrow tubes, so the core would be no more efficient than less tubes made wider.

1931 Flamingo    -- 11-24-2022 @ 8:19 AM
  If it's cooling OK and not leaking I would leave well enough alone. JMO
Paul in CT

wilsonsk    -- 11-24-2022 @ 8:38 AM