Topic: Flat head v8 pistons

Cobra Jet    -- 03-03-2021 @ 1:59 PM
  I have the 4 ring pistons. Can I leave the bottom oil ring off and run with the top 3 rings?

nelsb01    -- 03-03-2021 @ 7:12 PM
  I am not an expert --- but years ago when I had my engine rebuilt, the rebuilder asked if I wanted 3 ring or 4 ring pistoms. I knew that Ford used 3 ring -- and he said that the modern replacements would be 4 ring and more modern technology.
So, my engine has 4 rings. I personally think it is better, and an improvement over the technology that was available back in the day.

All I know is that engine runs fine with 4 rings.

RICKS2L    -- 03-04-2021 @ 5:32 AM
  No you cannot leave the bottom ring off.

TomO    -- 03-04-2021 @ 6:43 AM
  Why would you want to leave the 4th ring off? It not only helps to control oil consumption, but it also stabilizes the piston in the cylinder. I would not leave it off.

Tom

Cobra Jet    -- 03-04-2021 @ 11:00 AM
  I had read that the 4 ring piston with 2 oil rings didn't allow enough lubrication which results in increased cylinder wear.

TomO    -- 03-05-2021 @ 9:34 AM
  I don't have any information on excess wear caused by the 4 ring piston, so I cannot comment on it. I doubt that the extra ring would make much of a difference in wear on a hobby car.

If you are concerned about it, order some 3 ring pistons for your bore size. With today's technology on ring and piston design, a 3 ring piston can control oil consumption just as well as a 4 ring piston. A 4 ring pisto is deigned to use that 4th ring and leaving it off could lead to adverse effect on the engine, such as piston slap and excess oil consumption.

Tom

MG    -- 03-05-2021 @ 11:01 AM
  3 vs 4 Ring Pistons - 3 Ring types have less drag / friction and so are generally more efficient. If you are determined to go with 3 ring pistons, you should buy/use new 3 ring pistons. This, to avoid 'piston slap' by using the pistons you have without the forth ring....