Topic: flathead running poorly

rustedorrotting    -- 09-14-2019 @ 2:18 PM
  I have a 41 ford 1/2 ton truck with a flathead v 8. I recently got it running kinda. I have been a mechanic professionally my entire working life, so i am not new at this. Engine runs, but backfires. Back to basics, checked compression, 165 plus all 8 cyl's. still backfires. I have the wires in the black metal tubes. Should i run a different wire loom? Also i have installed an inline electric pump for priming and a new pump from Ken Isidor. I have also installed a pressure regulator and gauge ( 0 to 10 psi ) set at 2 pounds. The electric never quits running and after i turn the engine off, the pressure goes to zero after a few seconds. Bad power valve? Any help would be appreciated. BTW, vacuum gauge fluctuates from 13 to 15 pounds like a bad valve

MG    -- 09-14-2019 @ 6:41 PM
  Excellent compression!

Is it backfiring out the exhaust or out the carb? If it's backfiring through the carb you've blown the power valve. Make sure that the spark plug wires are plugged in correctly at the distributor - 1 to 1, 2 to 2, 3 to 3, etc. What are you using as a switch for the electric fuel pump? Given the vacuum reading, you might have sticking valves. Tell us more about the engine. Has it been sitting idle for a long period of time?....

rustedorrotting    -- 09-15-2019 @ 6:20 AM