Topic: 1935 flathead V8

mitchs67    -- 04-22-2020 @ 2:59 PM
  Hello,
I am brand new to your forum and I am not very experienced with forums so if I am doing anything wrong, please let me know. I'm restoring and 1935 pickup that is all original. I have rebuilt the oil pump and have it all back together. What is the best oil to use in this engine? Thank you

51504bat    -- 04-22-2020 @ 5:36 PM
  You're going to get more answers than Carter has pills but here's my take. I run 20/50 and have several thousand miles on the rebuilt 8ba in my '39 p/u. Its stock except for a Chevy distributor. I do know that diesel oil is used by many for its higher zinc content. I've thought about switching over but I'm still on the fence. My '39 is a daily around town driver with an occasional 45 mile or so round trip to a nearby swap meet. It seems everyone has differing opinions so consider them and then make your own choice.

mitchs67    -- 04-23-2020 @ 6:46 AM
  Thank you for your response. I am still learning all of the termenology about the different engines. What is a 8ba? I'm pretty sure my engine is the original. It's a 1935 pickup with a flathead V8. Do you know what that engine is called? The 20/50 oil that you use. Is it non detergent or detergent oil ? Thank you very much.

51504bat    -- 04-23-2020 @ 7:11 AM
  20/50 detergent. Don't think non detergent oil is available any more. 8ba refers to flatheads used between '49 and '53. Trucks used the 8ba starting in '48 but it was referred to as 8rt. Trucks in Canada still used the flathead in '54. '52 and '53 Ford flatheads were designated as EAB. Mercs were 8cm. May sound confusing and this is just a general explanation and may have some generalizations.
Van Pelt Sales LLC's web site has all kinds of good tech info about all things flatheads. http://www.vanpeltsales.com/FH_web/flathead_specs-85to100mid.htm Your engine should be a 21 stud flathead. Ford went to 24 stud flatheads in '38.

trjford8    -- 04-23-2020 @ 8:26 AM