Topic: 1937 Ford Pickup (Deluxe)

jameson5938    -- 09-09-2019 @ 11:05 AM
  I am about ready to start painting cab and bed. Seems most everything for this pickup is different than most because it was initially ordered and owned by the dealership OWNER in CA. who ordered this for himself and got every accessory Ford offered that year except for ONE! I am ATTEMPTING to restore it to original condition, but most people are not familiar with all the differences involved with the Deluxe package. I have been researching this one for about 15 years and I don't know it all myself!!!

My question is regarding the paint on the bottom of the cab and bottom of the bed. I am ASSUMING it would be the same color as the body, but need confirmation. ALSO - What reference book would show what goes UNDER the metal bed other than the wooden blocks. I have been told "nothing" and I have been told 3/4" wood boards. Are the wooden parts also painted black???

James A. Westbrook

nelsb01    -- 09-09-2019 @ 1:15 PM
  The bottom of the cab was body color.
The bottom of the bed was body color.........but, only the metal part of it. The wooden bed planks were ebony stain with over-spray from the metal bed color. (I believe this is the wood you are talking about. The screw holes in the metal bed floor, are for slot headed screws to hold the wood under metal bed.)
The wooden blocks at the rear cross member were also ebony stain.
There were webbed pads at the spots where the bolts went through the bed and into the frame. Your bed should have supports were the bolts go through, and the webbed pads are between the bed supports and the frame. Four per side. A carriage bolt was at the cab end, and the remaining were flat tappered bolts with a inset square in the head. (they have some special name but it escapes me)