Topic: Clutch Chatter Tie Rods

len47merc    -- 10-08-2014 @ 8:56 AM
  Anyone have any experience with the effectiveness of clutch chatter tie rods on our Fords/Mercs? Particularly '40-'48? I was given a new, complete NOS set still in the box and know the 59AB motor in my '47 has the mounting flange holes on each side of the block but question whether any benefit will be achieved by installing. Have a new clutch and pressure plate (<2,000 miles on them) and all forward gears are smooth as butter. Reverse is also at low rpms/power application - at higher rpms in reverse upon letting the clutch slip I feel a bit of what one might call 'chatter' that, while not intolerable, might be improved or resolved with the tie rod set. I have no experience or knowledge of the function and performance of this somewhat non-intuitive device. Looking for experienced advice - thanks.

edit - front motor mounts are new, trans mount is original with now 41K miles.

Steve

This message was edited by len47merc on 10-8-14 @ 4:59 PM

TomO    -- 10-09-2014 @ 6:50 AM
  They really don't help much and were discontinued after WWII on new cars.

Tom

len47merc    -- 10-09-2014 @ 8:02 AM
  Thanks Tom

Steve

supereal    -- 10-09-2014 @ 3:23 PM
  I have a diagram of an aftermarket brace which claimed to reduce clutch chatter years ago. I can't vouch for the effectiveness. The main culprit in clutch chatter is that the disc facing, which used to be asbestos, was dropped for hazard reasons, and replaced with an "organic" material. I believe it will always be with us until a better facing is devised.

len47merc    -- 10-09-2014 @ 6:12 PM