Topic: '39 Merc engine operating temp range

flatcreeker    -- 08-13-2021 @ 12:00 PM
  I accepted custody of a well loved and maintained '39 Merc survivor. It runs like a lion, usually. I am new to flatheads and old Fords. It's been a few years since I had a classic and I'm enjoying the learning process and crikey there is a lot to learn.

I am wanting to develop a general understanding of what the engine temps should be with a given ambient temp. Here's what I'm seeing. After a 30 minute drive, say, of moderate driving conditions, 40-55 mph, ambient temp 85-88F, high humidity, flat terrain and a mix of up and down moderate hills, I see movement of the temp gauge up and back through the normal range suggesting the 180 thermostats are functioning as they should.
When I stop, open the hood and shoot the surfaces with an IR temp gun, I'm seeing 195F on heads just below hose fitment (left and right within 5 degrees of each other) and 250F on intake manifold just below and in front of carburetor and 150F on surface of float chamber. It's the intake manifold temp which startled me. How does all this sound?

This message was edited by flatcreeker on 8-13-21 @ 2:40 PM

carcrazy    -- 08-13-2021 @ 12:12 PM
  A rule of thumb with Ford Flathead V-8s is that the coolant temperature is usually about 100 degrees F higher than the outside ambient temperature, more if the car is accelerating or climbing hills.

flatcreeker    -- 08-13-2021 @ 2:43 PM
  Thanks for the input. That is about what I thought was typical. It's a bit hilly here in NE Georgia. Do you have any thoughts on the other temps I mentioned (and just edited)?

ford38v8    -- 08-13-2021 @ 7:52 PM