Topic: under-the-hood picture

Barney    -- 01-05-2019 @ 7:13 AM
  Happy New Year, I'm a Newbie member, so please forgive me if I am asking for something recently discussed or shown. I purchased a 1940 Standard Fordor as a 'basket case'. I am in the process of assembling items under the hood. Of course, it's obvious where some components are mounted (battery, generator). I realize I can mount items as the starter solenoid, coil, etc. most any place convenient, but I'd like to have it look original when 'popping the hood'. Does anyone have a couple pictures they could share. Or is there an assembly book (hopefully with diagrams) available that could prove helpful? Thank you to the max. Regards, Barney

TomO    -- 01-05-2019 @ 8:03 AM
  I have other photos, but could not find them today. These show most of the stuff.

The solenoid is mounted on the firewall, there are 2 bolt holes for it.

Tom

TomO    -- 01-05-2019 @ 8:05 AM
  here is another

The coil is mounted on top of the distributor.

Search the vendors for 1932-1953 Ford parts for a 1940 or 1941 Chassis parts catalog. It will provide a reference until the 1940 Book is published.

Ask questions here and post some photos so the best answer can be provided. You can only post 1 photo per reply on this Forum, so if you have multiple photos, you must reply to the post for each photo.

Tom

This message was edited by TomO on 1-5-19 @ 8:16 AM

kubes40    -- 01-05-2019 @ 11:32 AM
  Hope this helps...

Mike "Kube" Kubarth

kubes40    -- 01-05-2019 @ 11:32 AM
  And this...

Mike "Kube" Kubarth

kubes40    -- 01-05-2019 @ 11:33 AM
  And this...

Mike "Kube" Kubarth

kubes40    -- 01-05-2019 @ 11:34 AM
  And this...
If you need anything specific, let me know.

Mike "Kube" Kubarth

Barney    -- 01-05-2019 @ 5:25 PM